Jesus says himself that he is a slave of God


Quran Chapter 19  29 to 31a (Pt-16, Stg-4) (L-1939) درس قرآن

Jesus says himself that he is a slave of God

Chapter Maryam (Mary) – 19

‘A-‘uu-zu  Billaahi minash-Shay-taanir- Rajiim.
(I seek refuge in God from Satan the outcast)

 

Bis-Millaahir-Rah-maanir-Rahiim.
(In the name of God, the Beneficent, the Merciful)

 

فَأَشَارَتْ إِلَيْهِ قَالُوا۟ كَيْفَ نُكَلِّمُ مَن كَانَ فِىٱلْمَهْدِ صَبِيًّا 29  قَالَ إِنِّى عَبْدُ ٱللَّهِ ءَاتَىٰنِىَ ٱلْكِتَٰبَ وَجَعَلَنِى نَبِيًّا 30  وَجَعَلَنِى مُبَارَكًا أَيْنَ مَا كُنتُ وَأَوْصَٰنِى بِٱلصَّلَوٰةِ وَٱلزَّكَوٰةِ مَا دُمْتُ حَيًّا 31

 

29.  Then she pointed to him. They said: How can we talk to one who is in the cradle, an infant?

 

30.  He spake: Lo! I am the Slave of Allah. He hath given me the Scripture and hath appointed me a Prophet-

 

31a.  And hath made me blessed wheresoever I may be,

29.  Fa-’ashaarat  ‘ilayh.  Qaaluu  kayfa  nukallimu  man-  kaana  fil-mahdi  sabiyyaa.

 

30.  Qaala  ‘innii  ‘AbdUllaah.  ‘Aataaniyal-Kitaaba  wa  ja-‘alanii  Nabiyyaa.

 

31a.  wa  ja-‘alanii  mubaarakan  ‘ayna  maa  kuntu, 

 

Commentary

 

At last that stage came before Mary (peace be upon her), from which she was afraid. It could not be that she might dwell separately; hidden from the members of her family, relatives and the people of her native land. Eventually she entered into her township and came unto her family and folk; carrying her son. The people began to taunt and reproach her. Then Mary (peace be upon her) had nothing to say, so she produced her son before them helplessly.

 

It was an indication that the infant himself would tell that who was he, how did he come in the world. Perhaps she would have thought that after being young, his character and sayings will manifest the truth. But I sacrifice on the kindness and mercy of Allah Almighty that He did not leave the matter on future and decided at the spot, so that no intelligent person may talk about it after that. He bestowed power of speaking to the infant who was in the cradle and who gave evidence with his tongue before the people: Allah Almighty has produced me by His Omnipotence only from my mother’s womb. I am His slave. He has appointed me for a work for which He has revealed a Scripture upon me, and He has chosen me as His Prophet. And He has made me so much fortunate that wherever I shall go; welfare and blessings will go with me there, and entire afflictions and sufferings of the people of that place will be removed.

 

Although he {Jesus (peace be upon him)} did not say with his tongue that he was born without father, but it was obvious from that whatsoever he said.

 

Transliterated Holy Qur’an in Roman Script & Translated from Arabic to English by Marmaduke Pickthall, Published by Paak Company, 17-Urdu Bazaar, Lahore, Lesson collected from Dars e Qur’aan published By Idara Islaah wa Tableegh, Lahore (translated Urdu to English by Muhammad Sharif).